About Us

The Northern California Clinical Education Consortium (NCCEC) is a partnership between academic education and clinical practice that provides leadership for clinical education programs and clinical faculty development. Each academic program in Northern California, which has achieved a minimum of candidacy status from the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), is represented along with Site Coordinators of Clinical Education (SCCEs) from physical therapy clinics and hospitals throughout the region.

NCCEC meets quarterly to discuss, network, and aggressively explore opportunities and visionary ideas to foster and support dynamic clinical education environments. Our goal is to create environments that enable students to transition into competent and socially responsible professionals who understand, respond, and promote creative problem solving in the rapidly changing, competitive healthcare delivery system. We explore, design, and implement innovations to assist practitioners in the provision of quality learning experiences to maintain excellence in clinical education.

New Members: If interested in becoming a member please contact: colemanb@csus.edu

Mission

The Northern California Clinical Education Consortium (NCCEC) is an organization dedicated to the development, implementation, and support of quality clinical education for Physical Therapist and Physical Therapist Assistant students.

Serving the Following Regions

The Northern California Clinical Education Consortium (NCCEC) covers clinical sites and PT and PTA programs from Bakersfield up North to the Southern Oregon Border.

Academic Representatives

Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) Programs

Bryan Coleman-Salgado

Bryan Coleman-Salgado

Director of Clinical Education

California State University, Sacramento

colemanb@csus.edu

Alisa Vanderkar

Alisa Vanderkar

Assistant Director of Clinical Education

California State University, Sacramento

alisa.vanderkar@csus.edu

Lisa Hayes

Lisa Hayes

Director of Clinical Education

University of California San Francisco/San Francisco State University

Lisa.Hayes@ucsf.edu

Secretary, NCCEC

Sarah Pawlowsky

Sarah Pawlowsky

Assistant Director of Clinical Education

University of California San Francisco/San Francisco State University

spawlowsky@sfsu.edu

Alicia Rabena-Amen

Alicia Rabena-Amen

Director of Clinical Education

University of the Pacific, Stockton

arabenaamen@pacific.edu

APTA CCIP Level 1 Trainer

Heidi Garske

Heidi Garske

Director of Clinical Education

Samuel Merritt University, Oakland

hgarske@samuelmerritt.edu

APTA CCIP Level 1 Trainer

Sheryl Ettinger

Sheryl Ettinger

Assistant Director of Clinical Education

Samuel Merritt University, Oakland

settinger@samuelmerritt.edu

Jennifer Roos

Jennifer Roos

Director of Clinical Education

California State University, Fresno

jroos@csufresno.edu

Treasurer, NCCEC

Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) Programs

Matt Silva

Matt Silva

Director of Clinical Education

Ohlone College, Newark

msilva14@ohlone.edu

Jana L. Emmons

Jana L. Emmons

Director of Clinical Education

Carrington College, Pleasant Hill

jana.emmons@carrington.edu

Millie Burns

Millie Burns

Director of Clinical Education

Sacramento City College

burnsm@scc.losrios.edu

Erin Schulz

Erin Schulz

Director of Clinical Education

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

eschulz@gurnick.edu

President, NCCEC

Jeff McCormick

Jeff McCormick

Director of Clinical Education

Shasta College

jmccormick@shastacollege.edu

Website Coordinator, NCCEC

Joseph Munoz

Joseph Munoz

Director of Clinical Education

Mendocino College

jmunoz@mendocino.edu

Michelle Borges

Michelle Borges

Director of Clinical Education

Institute of Technology Modesto

mborges@iot.edu

Heather Porter

Heather Porter

Director of Clinical Education

Institute of Technology Clovis

hporter@iot.edu

Jeff Hepburn

Jeff Hepburn

Director of Clinical Education

Institute of Technology Redding

jhepburn@iot.edu

Clinical Representatives

Site Coordinators of Clinical Education (SCCE)

Paul D. Smith

Paul D. Smith

Community Regional Medical Center Fresno

Beth Lapachet

Beth Lapachet

Kaiser Permanente San Francisco

Suzie Maciel

Suzie Maciel

Sutter Valley Hospitals & Sutter Valley Medical Foundation

Fatema Ghani

Fatema Ghani

Golden Bear Physical Therapy

Lucia Rael

Lucia Rael

UC Davis Medical Center (Inpatient)

Michael Sterken

Michael Sterken

UC Davis Medical Center (Inpatient)

M. Casey Maynard

M. Casey Maynard

UC Davis Medical Center (Outpatient)

Bruce O'Brien

Bruce O'Brien

Kaiser Diablo Service Area (Dept of Rehabilitation)

NCCEC Member Emeritus

Theresa Jaramillo

Theresa Jaramillo

UCSF APTA CCIP Level 1 Trainer

Catherine Ammenti

Catherine Ammenti

Program Director at Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

Looking for Clinical Instructor (CI) Training Courses?